Feb. 09, 2023

WARREN — Rep. Kathy Rapp (R-Warren/Crawford/Forest) announced today that 29 fire departments and ambulance organizations throughout Crawford, Forest and Warren counties have been awarded approximately $329,575 from a grant program administered by the Office of the State Fire Commissioner. 

“This zero-taxpayer-dollars funded grant program is a tremendous resource for our hardworking emergency responders as they continue to protect and serve our communities with dedication and distinction,” said Rapp. “Especially during times of rising costs and rampant inflation, they need all the financial support we can give them, which is why I am pleased so many of these organizations continue to take advantage of this state funding that is available every year.”

Initiated by the PA General Assembly in 2000, this statewide grant program is open to all fire, ambulance and rescue companies across the Commonwealth. 

All funding comes from the proceeds from slot machine gaming, and not General Fund tax revenue. 

Projects eligible for funding include recruitment and retention, construction or renovation of a fire or ambulance company facility, purchase or repair of equipment, training or debt reduction. 

Following is a list of fire and ambulance companies serving the 65th District and the amount of their grant awards:

Crawford County
Bloomfield Township Volunteer Fire Department, $11,861.
Bloomfield Township Volunteer Fire Department EMS, $10,000.
Cambridge Springs Volunteer Fire Department, $12,598.
Centerville Volunteer Fire Department, $12,106.
Centerville Volunteer Fire Department EMS, $10,000.
Saegertown Volunteer Fire Department Inc., $11,861.
Spartansburg Volunteer Fire Department, $11,861.
Spartansburg Volunteer Fire Department EMS, $10,000.
Venango Volunteer Fire Department and Relief Association, $12,843.
Venango Volunteer Fire Department and Relief Association EMS, $10,000.

Forest County
Marienville Volunteer Fire Company Inc., $11,861. 
Tionesta Volunteer Fire Department, $13,089. 
West Hickory Volunteer Fire Department, $11,861.

Warren County
Bear Lake Volunteer Fire Department, $11,861.
Cherry Grove Volunteer Fire Department, $11,861.
City of Warren Fire Department, $15,000.
City of Warren Fire Department EMS, $10,000.
Clarendon Volunteer Fire Department, $11,861.
Clarendon Volunteer Fire Department EMS, $4,964.
Garland Volunteer Fire Department, $11,861.
Glade Township Volunteer Fire Department, $13,826.
Lander Volunteer Fire Department, $11,861.
Pleasant Volunteer Fire Department, $12,106.
Pleasant Volunteer Fire Department EMS, $10,000.
Spring Creek Volunteer Fire Department, $12,352. 
Starbrick Volunteer Fire Department, $12,598.
Tidioute Volunteer Fire Department, $10,000.
Tidioute Volunteer Fire Department EMS, $7,000.
Wrightsville Volunteer Fire Department, $12,483.

To receive a grant award, organizations must first apply and then complete a grant agreement. More information about these grants and other financial support programs for the state’s fire and EMS companies is available at www.osfc.pa.gov.

The 65th Legislative District includes all of Warren County; all Forest County; and portions of Crawford County consisting of the townships of Athens, Bloomfield, Cambridge, Cussewago, Richmond, Rockdale, Sparta, Venango and Woodcock; and the boroughs of Blooming Valley, Cambridge Springs, Centerville, Saegertown, Spartansburg, Venango and Woodcock.  

Representative Kathy Rapp
65th District
Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Media Contact: Ty McCauslin
RepRapp.com / Facebook.com/RepRapp